Subspecialties for Diagnostic Radiology


Last verified on October 12, 2020
Only candidates who are certified in general radiology, diagnostic radiology, or interventional/diagnostic radiology are eligible to be certified in neuroradiology.

The Certificate

The American Board of Radiology conducts an image-rich, computer-based exam to ascertain the qualification of diagnostic radiologists who have studied neuroradiology. A board-certified neuroradiologist is one who has demonstrated knowledge, problem-solving, and application of those skills to a degree worthy of the public's and the profession's trust. This is someone deemed capable of working in various sectors of the field safely and effectively.

Exam Breakdown and Timing

The Neuroradiology Subspecialty Exam is a one-day computer-based exam consisting of 180 questions and is approximately 3 hours long.
For more details visit the Exam Breakdown and Timing page.