Subspecialties for Diagnostic Radiology

Alternate Pathway to Subspecialty Certification

Last verified on July 1, 2024


A diplomate of the ABR may attain subspecialty certification in neuroradiology, nuclear radiology, and/or pediatric radiology without taking an accredited fellowship if the diplomate meets the following requirements:
  • Serving on the subspecialty faculty at a single institution with an ACGME- or RCPSC-accredited fellowship in the discipline for:
    • two consecutive years at 1.0 FTE, with at least 75 percent of clinical responsibility in the discipline,
    • or
    • or at a single institution for three consecutive years at 1.0 FTE, with at least 50 percent of clinical responsibility in the discipline.
    Note: Part-time diplomates working  ≥ 0.6 FTE are also eligible. Please contact an ABR certification manager at for details.
    Note: To be eligible for nuclear radiology subspecialty certification via this pathway, the institution must have either an ACGME- or RCPSC-accredited nuclear radiology fellowship, nuclear medicine residency (fellowship), or an established 16-month ABR Pathway in Nuclear Radiology for its diagnostic radiology residency or integrated interventional radiology residency.
  • Certified in general radiology, diagnostic radiology, or interventional radiology/diagnostic radiology.
  • An application form must be submitted to the ABR before a decision can be made regarding a candidate's qualifications. The application window for this pathway is July 1 through September 30. The application form is available here.



    Candidates with approved applications are eligible for the initial certification computer-based subspecialty exam in the subspecialty for which they applied.

    Recognition of Successful Candidates

    Successful candidates are awarded a continuous ABR subspecialty certificate in the subspecialty certification for which they applied.