Volunteer for Medical Physics

Volunteering for the ABR

Last verified on August 5, 2022

Benefits of Volunteering

Our commitment is for ABR certification to reflect the ongoing changes in medicine while remaining a respected and credible exercise of professional self-regulation. You can choose from many opportunities to contribute to the future of your specialty.
Benefits include time to network and work with friends, opportunities to move into other volunteer roles, and, most importantly, the satisfaction that comes from making a positive impact on the future of medical physics.  

Volunteer Opportunities and Requirements

Volunteers must be certified by the ABR and meet requirements of the MOC program. For details on volunteer opportunities and other requirements, please see the ABR Volunteer Handbook.  

How to Apply

To apply, please log in to myABR and click on the volunteer tab.  

More Information for ABR Volunteers


Photographs of Medical Physics Volunteers

February 2020 MP Oral TMP Committee
Left to right: Carrie Olson (Multimedia Processing Specialist); Sonja Dieterich, PhD; Matthew Podgorsak, PhD (Chair, Trustee); Elena Luevano (Multimedia Processing Specialist); Richard Popple, PhD; Katja Langen, PhD; John Bayouth, PhD; Frank Ascoli, MS.
August 2019 MP OLA DMP Committee
Back row, left to right: Don-Soo Kim, PhD; Nicholas B. Bevins, PhD; Thaddeus A. Wilson, PhD. Front row, left to right: Kalpana M. Kanal, PhD (Trustee); Rebecca M. Marsh, PhD (Chair); Jeffrey M. Moirano, MS; Ryan Fisher, PhD; and Jennifer Postuma (OLA Exam Developer).
August 2019 MP Oral DMP Committee
Back row, left to right: David E. Hintenlang, PhD; Beth A. Schueler, PhD; E. Russell Ritenour, PhD; and David A. Zamora, MS. Front row, left to right: Jessica B. Clements, MS (Chair); Kalpana M. Kanal, PhD (Trustee); and Dagoberto Esquer (Multimedia Processing Specialist).
August 2019 MP Oral NMP Committee
Back row, left to right: Maxwell L. R. Amurao, PhD; Rachel M. Bartlett, PhD; Patrick J. Byrne, ME (Chair); Joshua S. Scheuermann, MS; Michael V. Yester, PhD; Robert H. Pooley, PhD (Trustee). Front row, left to right: Vanessa L. Gates, MS; Jerry D. Allison, PhD (Trustee); Pat B. Zanzonico, PhD; and Julie Howell (Multimedia Processing Specialist).
June 2019 MP OLA TMP Committee
Left to right: Matthew A. Deeley, PhD; Michael S. Taylor, MS (Chair); Kristofer K. Kainz, PhD; Gwendolyn C. King, MS; Jennifer Postuma (OLA Exam Developer); Chelsea Starke (OLA Exam Developer); Varun Sehgal, PhD; Elora White (OLA Exam Developer); and Harish K. Malhotra, PhD.
June 2019 MP IC Clinical Committee
Left to right: Sugata Tripathi, PhD (Chair); Jerry D. Allison, PhD (Trustee); Vikren Sarkar, PhD; and Stewart J. Becker, PhD.
April 2019 MP Test Assembly Meeting
August 2108 Diagnostic Medical Physics IC Committee
Left to right: Thomas Oshiro, PhD; Jaydev K. Dave, PhD; David M. Gauntt, PhD; Andrew Karellas, PhD (Chair); Melissa C. Martin, MS; Kalpana M. Kanal, PhD (Trustee), and Terri New (Exam Developer).
August 2018 Nuclear Medical Physics IC Committee
Left to right: William C. O’Brien-Penney, PhD; Mark T. Madsen, PhD; Bianka Flannagan (Exam Developer); Jennifer R. Stickel, PhD; Jerry D. Allison, PhD (Trustee); and Michael V. Yester, PhD (Chair).