Board of Trustees to Welcome Three Members After Fall Meeting


The American Board of Radiology is adding three members to its Board of Trustees: Kristopher Cummings, MD, a cardiothoracic imaging radiologist; Umesh D. Oza, MD, a nuclear radiologist; and Jennifer Stickel, PhD, a nuclear medical physicist. They will begin their duties at the conclusion of the fall board meeting in September.

Kristopher Cummings, MD

Dr. Cummings is chair of the division of cardiothoracic imaging in the department of radiology at the Mayo Clinic in Scottsdale, Arizona, and an associate professor of radiology at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science. He earned his bachelor’s degree in biology at the University of Alabama and medical degree at the University of Alabama School of Medicine in Birmingham. He completed his residency and a fellowship in cardiothoracic imaging at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology, Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis. Dr. Cummings has been certified by the ABR since 2007.

Umesh D. Oza, MD

Dr. Oza is a partner at American Radiology Associates in Dallas and professor of radiology at Baylor University Medical Center. He earned his bachelor’s degree in biology at Texas A&M University and his medical degree at the University of Texas Medical School in Houston. Dr. Oza finished a residency in diagnostic radiology at Tufts University School of Medicine/New England Medical Center in Boston and a fellowship in nuclear medicine at Harvard Medical School. He has been certified by the ABR since 2004.

Jennifer Stickel, PhD

Dr. Stickel is vice president of diagnostic/nuclear medicine physics at Colorado Associates in Medical Physics in Colorado Springs. She completed her bachelor’s degree in biomedical engineering at Boston University and her PhD in biomedical engineering at the University of California-Davis. Dr. Stickel has been certified by the ABR since 2010.

The Board of Trustees advances the quality, relevance, and effectiveness of the ABR’s assessments for certification. The Board of Trustees makes recommendations to the Board of Governors regarding assessment structure including, but not limited to, exam format, content, assembly, delivery, scoring, and feedback. Trustees have specialty and subspecialty expertise, reflecting major areas of clinical practice.

ABMS Visiting Scholars Program Application Period Opens


The ABR partners with the American Board of Medical Specialties to assist candidates and early career diplomates with their research efforts and leadership development through the Visiting Scholars program.

A one-year, part-time program, ABMS Visiting Scholars facilitates research projects that address pressing health care issues and research priorities for the Member Board community. Applications for the 2024-’25 cohort will be accepted until June 17.

The ABR’s goal is to fund up to four projects each year, preferably with one participant from each of the four specialties that it certifies: diagnostic radiology, interventional radiology, medical physics, and radiation oncology.

For more information, please visit the ABMS’ website or watch this video.

ABR Board of Governors and Trustees


The current ABR Board of Governors and Trustees consists of the following volunteers: Back row, L to R: Andrea K. Ng, MD, MPH; Steven J. Frank, MD; Desiree E. Morgan, MD; Leslie Scoutt, MD; Stephen F. Simoneaux, MD; Catheryn Yashar, MD; David B. Larson, MD, MBA; Daniel C. Davis, MD; John A Kaufman, MD, MS; Christopher P. Wood, MD; Toby A. Gordon, ScD; John H. Suh, MD; Kate Maturen, MD, MS; Paul J. Rochon, MD. Front row, L to R: Robert A. Pooley, PhD; Anne M. Covey, MD; Sanjeev Bhalla, MD; M. Victoria Marx, MD; Matthew B. Podgorsak, PhD; Robert M. Barr, MD; Cheri L. Canon, MD; Kalpana M. Kanal, PhD; Marina I. Feldman, MD, MBA; Ashok Gupta, MD; M. Elizabeth Oates, MD. Not pictured: Donald J. Flemming, MD; Pamela A. Propeck, MD; Brian J. Davis, MD, PhD.

Return to The Beam


Help spread the word
© 2023 American Board of Radiology    |   
Privacy & Legal    |   
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Site Map
The American Board of Radiology does not and shall not discriminate based on race, color, religion (creed), gender, gender expression, age, national origin (ancestry), disability, marital status, sexual orientation, or military status in any of its activities or operations. These activities include but are not limited to hiring and firing of staff, selection of volunteers, conducting committee meetings, and administering exams. We are committed to an environment free from discrimination, sexual harassment, and other unlawful forms of harassment. To report any actions of discrimination, sexual harassment, or other unlawful harassment, please contact Karyn Howard, Managing Director, at 520-790-2900 extension 2171 or you can call our confidential hotline at 844-280-0005.
Version: 3.0.58
The American Board of Radiology