Subspecialties for Radiation Oncology


Last verified on January 4, 2024

Are all board-certified radiation oncologists, general radiologists, diagnostic radiologists, or interventional/diagnostic radiologists eligible?

As an ABR-certified radiation oncologist, general radiologist, diagnostic radiologist, or interventional/diagnostic radiologist, you meet the basic eligibility requirements. However, as a subspecialist, it is anticipated that you will be spending a significant portion of time dedicated to hospice and palliative care medicine.

Do I need to take the exam to get certified?

Yes, you need to take the exam that is administered through the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM). Exam registration information is available here.

Was there a grandfathering period for eligibility to sit for the certification exam?

Before December 31, 2012, ABR-certified diplomates could apply to sit for the certification exam without additional training, but they must have met basic eligibility criteria.

What happened after the grandfathering period?

With the expiration of that grandfathering period, which lasted five years, all candidates interested in sitting for the exam must have completed a one-year ACGME-approved fellowship in hospice and palliative medicine. Radiation oncologists, diagnostic radiologists, interventional/diagnostic radiologists, and general radiologists, in addition to specialists from any of the other co-sponsoring boards, are eligible to apply for these training fellowships.

Who will issue the certification?

The American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) will issue the subspecialty certificate in hospice and palliative medicine.

Where can I check my certification status?

Certification can be verified on the ABMS Certification Matters website.