Maintenance of Certification for Diagnostic Radiology

MOC Exam (Traditional)

Last verified on June 19, 2017
The ABR’s practice-profiled MOC exam is modular, allowing diplomates to self-select three modules of the exam content most relevant to their practice. Each diplomate’s practice profile is completed during the exam registration process. Diplomates may choose one to three different clinical content categories, including general radiology. See the study guides section below for a list of clinical content categories.
  • If more than one module is selected in any one of the clinical content categories, the first module will be at the fundamental level, and the remaining modules selected in that clinical content area will be delivered at the advanced level.
  • A fundamental module consists predominantly of content that a general radiologist should or must know to practice effectively.
  • An advanced module consists predominantly of content that may ask more detailed questions with greater depth, designed for individuals who are subspecialists in an area.
In addition to the clinical content, noninterpretive skills (NIS) questions are embedded in each of three selected modules. NIS content includes topics deemed important for every practicing radiologist to know, such as patient safety, life support, professionalism/ethics, and principles of image quality.

Diplomates with Subspecialties

  • Diplomates maintaining certification in one subspecialty may choose to have all three clinical content modules in that subspecialty. Alternatively, they may select multiple categories, but at least two modules must be in their subspecialty category. About four hours are allotted for the exam.
  • Diplomates maintaining certification in two subspecialty categories will be examined on a total of six clinical content modules. At least two modules must be in each subspecialty certificate category. The two remaining clinical modules may be in one or more other clinical categories. About six hours are allotted for the exam.
  • Diplomates maintaining certification in three subspecialty categories will have two modules of clinical content in each subspecialty category. About six hours are allotted for the exam.

Exam Registration

To register for the diagnostic radiology MOC exam, you will first need to create your practice profile under the Cognitive Expertise section of myABR by clicking “Add Practice Profile.” After you have created your practice profile, you will receive an email confirmation of the modules you have selected, followed by a separate email with the next steps to register for the MOC exam.    

MOC Exams

Description Date Location
Diagnostic Radiology and Diagnostic Radiology Subspecialty MOC Exams March 26, 2018
Exam Registration Deadline: February 13, 2018
ABR Exam Centers, Tucson only

Study Guides

The following study guides are meant to help you prepare for the MOC Exam. The guides are not all inclusive, but they indicate the general topics that will be included in each category. Because clinical exam content is image rich and practice relevant, the majority of currently practicing diagnostic radiologists will find that knowledge gained in daily practice and through customary means of keeping up-to-date (literature, courses, etc.) will serve as adequate preparation.
Breast Neuroradiology
Cardiac Nuclear
Gastrointestinal Pediatric
General Radiology Thoracic
Genitourinary Ultrasound
Musculoskeletal Vascular/Interventional
Noninterpretive Skills Resource Guide provides detailed content that examinees are expected to know to pass the NIS questions. All NIS material included in the exam is covered in the syllabus. Please note that since this is a new and evolving area, the content of the NIS questions may change in the future, and the syllabus will be updated accordingly.
Information about a practice exam that can be used to help MOC examinees become familiar with the software interface used in the ABR exam centers is available here.

Exam Details

  • On exam day, the diplomate scheduled to participate in the exam according to ABR records must confirm his or her identity by presenting a valid government-issued photo I.D. and also may be identified through biometric verification.
  • Each exam module contains approximately 66 questions.
  • Clinical exam modules will contain “normals.”
  • The exam is a multiple-choice test. Occasionally, you will not be able to return to a question you have already answered, so it is best to answer the questions in the order given.
  • Diplomates who fail the MOC exam will be required to retake the same clinical content at their next exam attempt.

Exam Results

Exam results will be posted on myABR approximately four to six weeks after the exam. An email will be sent when the results have been posted.

Did you find what you needed on this page?