New Cohort of ABMS Visiting Scholars Named


ABMS Visiting Scholars: Assistant Professor Dr. Francis Deng and residents Dr. Leslie Chang and Dr. Ria Mulherkar

A new class of American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) Visiting Scholars has been announced, including one diagnostic radiology assistant professor and two radiation oncology residents who are sponsored by the ABR.

Francis Deng, MD (diagnostic radiology), Leslie Chang, MD (radiation oncology), and Ria Mulherkar, MD (radiation oncology), were selected from a group of applicants. This is the second year the ABR has helped fund the program.

Dr. Deng is an assistant professor of radiology and radiological science at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Dr. Chang is a resident at Johns Hopkins, and Dr. Mulherkar is a resident at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center Hillman Cancer Center.

A one-year, part-time program, ABMS Visiting Scholars facilitates research projects that address pressing health care issues and research priorities for the Member Board community. The ABR is one of 24 ABMS Member Boards.

Last year’s recipient was Sara Hunter, MD, a diagnostic radiologist at the Cleveland Clinic. Her Visiting Scholars project, titled, “It’s Not Enough to be Up-to-Date, You Have to be Up-to-Tomorrow: How Longitudinal Assessment Encourages Radiologists to Stay Current,” examines the impact of Continuing Certification programs, like Online Longitudinal Assessment.


ABR Poster in Top Three at ABMS Conference


ABR Psychometrician Brooke Houck, PhD, accepts an award for the ABR poster from Martin Pusic, MD, PhD, Director of the ABMS Research and Education Foundation, at the ABMS Conference in Chicago last month.

At the annual American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) conference in Chicago last month, the ABR presented the poster “Giving Notice: Using Cauchy Sequencing to Inform Diplomates of Longitudinal Assessment Progress.” Created by ABR Psychometrician Brooke Houck, PhD, Data analyst/Statistician Yihong Ding, Communications Director David Laszakovits, Communications Manager Rodney Campbell, and UX/Graphic Designer David Short, the poster was selected as one of the top three out of more than 30 at the conference.

Return to The Beam


Help spread the word
© 2023 American Board of Radiology    |   
Privacy & Legal    |   
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Site Map
The American Board of Radiology does not and shall not discriminate based on race, color, religion (creed), gender, gender expression, age, national origin (ancestry), disability, marital status, sexual orientation, or military status in any of its activities or operations. These activities include but are not limited to hiring and firing of staff, selection of volunteers, conducting committee meetings, and administering exams. We are committed to an environment free from discrimination, sexual harassment, and other unlawful forms of harassment. To report any actions of discrimination, sexual harassment, or other unlawful harassment, please contact Karyn Howard, Managing Director, at 520-790-2900 extension 2171 or you can call our confidential hotline at 844-280-0005.
Version: 3.0.58
The American Board of Radiology