Subspecialties for Interventional Radiology

Alternate Pathway to Subspecialty Certification

Last verified on May 1, 2024


A diplomate of the ABR may attain subspecialty certification in neuroradiology, nuclear radiology, or pediatric radiology without taking an accredited fellowship if the diplomate meets the following requirements:
  • Serving on the subspecialty faculty at a single institution with an ACGME- or RCPSC-accredited fellowship in the discipline for:
    • two consecutive years at 1.0 FTE, with at least 75 percent of clinical responsibility in the discipline,
    • or
    • three consecutive years at 1.0 FTE, with at least 50 percent of clinical responsibility in the discipline.
    Note: Part-time diplomates working  ≥ 0.6 FTE are also eligible. Please contact an ABR certification manager at for details.
  • Certified in general radiology, diagnostic radiology, or interventional radiology/diagnostic radiology.
  • An application form must be submitted to the ABR before a decision can be made regarding a candidate's qualifications. The application window for this pathway is February 1 through April 30. Please check back here on February 1, 2025, for the 2025 exam application.



    Candidates with approved applications are eligible for the initial certification computer-based subspecialty exam in the subspecialty for which they applied.

    Recognition of Successful Candidates

    Successful candidates are awarded a continuous ABR subspecialty certificate in the subspecialty certification for which they applied.