Subspecialties for Interventional Radiology

Alternate Pathway to Subspecialty Certification

Last verified on June 1, 2021


A diplomate of the ABR may attain subspecialty certification in neuroradiology, nuclear radiology, or pediatric radiology without taking an accredited fellowship if the diplomate meets the following requirements:
  • Served on the subspecialty faculty at a single institution with an ACGME- or RCPSC-accredited fellowship in the discipline for two consecutive years at 1.0 FTE, with at least 75 percent of clinical responsibility in the discipline, or at a single institution for three consecutive years at 1.0 FTE, with at least 50 percent of clinical responsibility in the discipline.
    • Note: To be eligible for nuclear radiology subspecialty certification via this pathway, the institution must have either an ACGME- or RCPSC-accredited nuclear medicine residency (fellowship), nuclear radiology fellowship, or an established 16-month ABR Pathway in Nuclear Radiology for its diagnostic radiology residency or integrated interventional radiology residency.
  • Certified in general radiology, diagnostic radiology, or interventional radiology/diagnostic radiology.

An application form must be submitted to the ABR before a decision can be made regarding a candidate's qualifications. The application window for this pathway is July 1 through September 30. Please check back here on July 1, 2021, for the 2022 application.



Candidates with approved applications are eligible for the initial certification computer-based subspecialty exam in the subspecialty for which they applied.

Recognition of Successful Candidates

Successful candidates are awarded a continuous ABR subspecialty certificate in the subspecialty certification for which they applied.

Board Eligibility

Diplomates who successfully completed their training before 2019 will have 10 calendar years or until December 31, 2024, whichever comes first, to obtain certification. Those who complete their training in 2019 or later will have six calendar years.