Subspecialties for Interventional Radiology

Requirements and Registration

Last verified on October 3, 2022


You may successfully complete one year of training in a nuclear radiology fellowship program or one year of training in a nuclear radiology residency program accredited by the ACGME or the RCPSC (Canada). Alternatively, with prior approval, you may successfully complete the ABR alternate pathway or the 16-month pathway in nuclear radiology. Diplomates who successfully completed their training before 2019 will have 10 calendar years or until December 31, 2024, whichever comes first, to obtain certification. Those who complete their training in 2019 or later will have six calendar years.
Please comply with the following requirements:
  • The program director must document your successful completion of nuclear radiology fellowship training, nuclear radiology residency training, the alternate pathway, or the 16-month pathway during diagnostic radiology residency.
  • You must provide evidence of a current state medical license with a future expiration date.
  • Before submitting a subspecialty application, you must pay any outstanding ABR fees in full.



The standard application window for the Nuclear Radiology Subspecialty Exam is July 1 through September 30. Please check back here on July 1, 2023, for the 2024 application.


Alternate Pathways to Subspecialty Certification

To view the alternate pathway, click here.

To view the 16-month pathway, click here.


Recognition and MOC


Recognition of Successful Diplomates

Successful ABR Diplomates are awarded a continuous ABR subspecialty certificate in nuclear radiology.

Maintenance of Certification

Continuous subspecialty certification in nuclear radiology is contingent upon meeting the requirements of the ABR’s Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program. For MOC program details, please see the MOC page.